Retrace Your Sooty Steps

<a href=”https://tofretwell.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/20130726-231746.jpg”&gt;20130726-231746.jpg

My new knowledge of myself, germinating from my blog, has led me to new interests and, tomorrow, I plan to attend the People’s Assembly in Manchester opened by @OwenJones84 . How fitting that earlier this week, my Dad and I had lunch and he told me about my Great Grandad (I remember meeting him on several occasions when he was very old and I was very young – he smoked a pipe), a hard working miner who got laid off and ended up cycling from Yorkshire to the coal fields in Kent to look for work there and support his family. Apparently the bosses were wary of him because he was the one who protested to the management on behalf of the other workers when faced with injustice. I hope that speaking out runs in the family.

This one’s for you Grandad Dale!

Leave a Reply

